Eid Al Adha 2014

Traditional Performers

Traditional Performers

Eid Mubarak!
That’s how you greet during Eid. What is Eid by the way?

The first time I got here in Qatar, which was two years ago, I did not realize that I did not know that much about Muslim customs and traditions. ‘Culture shock’ is the perfect description and it will never be cliche, as much as it does sound. The terms, the practice to compromise, to respect–everything was new to me. My first Ramadan experience was very tough, having to endure avoiding food and water intake in public (even the tiniest sip of water is not allowed!) for the entire day and yet you still have to complete 8 hours of duty. But we’re not to talk about Ramadan in this post but about Eid.

There are two Eid celebrations: 1) Eid Al Fitr or Feast of breaking the fast, which is celebrated after Ramadan, usually a 3-day no-work holiday for establishments and; 2) Eid Al Adha occurs at the latter part of the year and is the grandest and most festive, a time for family gathering. It is more like what we know as “Thanksgiving” and is usually celebrated for 3-5 days, where in establishments close as well. Not really sure about the details but both is announced depending on the moon.

Eid Al Adha this year occurred on 4th until 8th October 2014. Temporary theme parks are installed with bouncy castles, game stations, face painters, henna tattoo for ladies and few performances. Not only it is festive but there’s also a lot of gratitude going on. We get to receive box of chocolates, Arabic sweets, Eid discounts, dinner invites, etc. all with Thank You notes. Since I’m under the events section, we do work on these days in a very hectic schedule but no worries as we’re paid double. Hah!

So on the last day of the festivities, we got the chance to visit the city and witness a few of what entertainment they offer. Here are few shots I took at Souq Waqif in Doha, Qatar.

Stilts Parade

Stilts Parade

Professional Video Coverage

Professional Video Coverage

This one even tried to surprise me! I was busy with my camera when he sneaked his way behind me and tried to tap my shoulder but I was too busy my friend had to tell me to take a look! LOL

This one even tried to surprise me! I was busy with my camera when he sneaked his way behind me and tried to tap my shoulder but I was too busy my friend had to tell me to take a look! LOL

A highly interesting performance especially for tourists and other expats like me

A highly interesting performance especially for tourists and other expats like me

Light Fairies Parade

Light Fairies Parade

How was your Eid? I’ll be glad to read more things I need to know about Eid, let me know in the comments.

